Ohio Document Standardization Guidelines
Ohio Revised Code Section 317.114 requires that the County Recorder accept for recording any document that does not conform to standardization guidelines, but shall charge an additional $10 for recorder’s services and $10 for the Ohio Housing Trust Fund.
The guidelines are as follows:
- Computer font size of at least 10 point;
- Minimum paper size- 8 1/2 x 11
- Maximum paper size- 8 1/2 x 14
- Black or blue ink ONLY;
- No use of highlighting;
- Margins of at least 1 inch of each side of the page and on the bottom;
- 3 inch margins on the top of the first page, reserved for Recorder, Auditor and Engineer;
- 1 1/2 inch margin on the top of each remaining pages.
This law does not apply to:
Any document from any taxing authority; Plats; DD214s, Any state or federal document, any document that existed before the effective date of this law.
Medicaid Estate Recovery Program
For all real estate transfers involving a transfer on death instrument:
In order to comply with Ohio’s Medicaid Estate Recovery Program, beneficiaries of a transfer on death instrument (transfer on death deeds before 2009, transfer on death designation affidavits from 2009-present) must submit a notice, identifying the Medicaid status of the deceased property owner. These forms are provided by the Ohio Department of Medicaid.
Accepted Forms of Payment
The Recorder’s Office offers the following types of payment:
- ACH transfer
- e-checks, Visa, Mastercare, Discover and American Express (November 1, 2013)
- All credit card payments must be made through a third party vendor, Point & Pay, and are subject to a convenience fee of 2.65% ($2.00 minimum)
- All e-check payments must also be made through a third party vendor, Point & Pay, and are subject to a $2.65 flat fee ($10.00 flat fee if over $10,000.00)
- Questions regarding credit card or e-check payments may be directed to Point & Pay Customer Support 1-888-891-6064, Option 2
Conveyance & Transfer Fees
The Miami County Auditor’s conveyance and transfer fees are as follows:
- Conveyance Fee - $2 per thousand
- Transfer Fee - $0.50 cents per parcel