Documents & Fees



Effective October 17, 2019, statewide recording fees for most documents will increase by $6.00 due to the enactment of HB 166 state budget legislation. The new recording fee for the first two pages will be $34.00 (previously $28.00). Each additional page remains the same as current law at $8.00. Half of all recording fees collected are required to be submitted to the state to the credit of the Ohio Housing Trust Fund. (Ohio Revised Code 317.32 & 317.36).

Sample Recording Fee Table Effective October 17, 2019

Number of PagesRecording Fee
1 or 2 Pages$34.00
3 Pages$42.00
4 Pages$50.00
5 Pages$58.00
6 Pages$66.00
7 Pages$74.00
8 Pages$82.00
9 Pages$90.00
10 Pages$98.00

 * $4.00 marginal fees and standardization guidelines still apply.

A $4.00 marginal notation fee must be submitted for the following document types: Mortgage Release, Mortgage Assignment and Mortgage Modification.

A fee of $20.00 will be charged for documents that do not conform to Ohio Standardization Guidelines.  Please see the "Document Standardization Guidelines" tab for more information.


  • Affidavits
  • Amendments, Consolidations, Name Change
  • Annexations
  • Annexations - Petitions
  • Assignments
  • Assumptions
  • Bankruptcy Documents (certified copy of)
  • Bills of Sale
  • By-Laws
  • Certificates of Transfer
  • Condominiums
  • Corporation Mergers, Name Changes, Cancellations
  • Corporations
  • Deeds
  • Easements
  • Encumbrances
  • Land Contracts
  • Leases
  • Mechanic’s Lien
  • Mortgage Releases
  • Mortgages
  • Notice of Commencement
  • Notice of Encumbrance
  • Oil and Gas Lease documents
  • Partnerships
  • Personal Property Transfers (effective March 27, 2013)
  • Plats
  • Power of Attorney documents
  • Quit Claim Deeds
  • Sheriff’s Deeds
  • Street Name Changes
  • Subordinations
  • Survivorship Deeds
  • Trusts (various documents)
  • Vacating of Streets and Alleys
  • Waivers of Priority
  • Warranty Deeds

Additional Document Fees

Document TypeFee
Financing Statements$12, plus $4 for each (filed pursuant to the Uniform Commercial Code) name indexed
Living Will / Durable Power of Attorney for HealthcareMinimum $28 / Maximum $40
Military Service Discharges (DD-214) (recording or certified copy upon request)No Fee
Plats$0.10 per square inch (min. of $40.00)
Zoning Resolutions (ORC Sec. 303.12, 519.12, 317.32(E))$50.00
Zoning Amendments (ORC Sec. 317.32(F))$20.00

Lien Fees

Lien TypeFee
Bureau of Employment, UnemploymentNo Fee
Compensation and Worker’s Compensation LiensN/A
Federal Tax Lien$5
Personal Property Tax LienNo Fee
Release of Federal Tax Liens$3
Release of Personal Property Tax Lien$4
Recognizance Bond LiensNo Fee

Copies & Facsimile Transmissions

Type of TransmissionFee
Certified Copies$2 per page, plus $1 for each seal
Facsimile Transmission (Local and Toll-Free)$2 per page
Facsimile Transmission (Long-Distance)$4 per page
Photocopies$2 per page
Plat Copies$2 per page