County Commissioners

PHOTO - Westfall.2Wade H. Westfall

Greg Simmons150x188Gregory A. Simmons
Vice President

The Insight Newsletter

Each month the Board of Miami County Commissioners publishes the Insight Newsletter online to keep the public informed of key activities happening in the county. Subscribe below to receive your copy of the Insight in your email each month. 

subscribe Opens in new windowarchives Opens in new window

About the County Commissioners

Each commissioner is elected at large to serve a four-year term. The State of Ohio consists of 88 counties all served by a board of county commissioners with the exception of two counties, Cuyahoga and Summit, each of which operates under a Charter form of government. 


The general responsibilities of the board are centered in the areas of financial management, management of county facilities, and personnel administration. The Board of County Commissioners works in cooperation with the other elected officials. The board exercises its statutory powers in budgeting, appropriating monies, levying taxes, issuing bonds and notes, and letting contracts for public works and services. 

Other responsibilities of the commissioners include:

  • Hearing and ruling on annexations, road petitions, and zoning applications
  • Approving drainage improvements through the petition ditch process
  • Establishing water and sewer districts and making improvements
  • Providing for solid waste disposal

The Board of Miami County Commissioners is directly responsible for the following county offices:

Animal Shelter
Communication Center
Department of Development
Emergency Management Agency
Human Resources
Job and Family Services
Maintenance & Facilities
Sanitary Engineering

To learn more about the specific duties and powers of the Board of County Commissioners, refer to Chapter 307 in the Ohio Revised Code.