Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Petit Jurors: Individuals are paid, by the court, for their services as a petit juror. The pay is calculated by the number of days that petit jurors are summoned and instructed to report to the Safety Building for jury selection. Petit jurors are compensated at the rate of $40.00 per day for each day present. After the tenth day of being seated on a jury trial petit jurors are compensated at the rate of $80.00 per day. However, if you are not seated on a jury trial and are excused before noon, you will receive $20.00. Payment is by check, which will arrive at your residence within one month following your jury service.
Grand Jurors: Individuals are paid for their services as a Grand Juror. The pay is $20.00 for a half day, or $40.00 for a full day. Payment is by check, which will arrive at your residence every thirty (30) days during your term.
Show All Answers
Please take the time to thoroughly read the summons and the letter accompanying the summons. It contains a great deal of information that may be helpful to you. Once you have read it, please fill out the questionnaire that was included to the fullest extent possible and mail it back to the Court using the enclosed envelope as soon as possible.
To be eligible to serve on jury duty, you must be at least 18 years of age, a citizen of the United States and resident of Miami County. You must able also be able to communicate in the English language.
In Miami County, Petit Jurors are selected for a one-month period. You may be called to serve at any time during that term. You may also be called more than once during your term. It is also possible that your services will not be needed at all during your term. You will know when to report upon receiving a second notification that the US Mail. Grand Jurors serve a term of four months and are required to report at the direction of the Court.
If you are selected as a Petit Juror, you will hear a case which is criminal or civil. A criminal trial will involve a felony (a more serious type of crime.) The law requires twelve (12) jurors to be seated in a criminal case, only eight (8) jurors are required in a civil case. In a criminal trial, the jury must find a litigant guilty or not guilty by unanimous vote. In civil cases, the law requires a vote of a least three-fourths of the jury to reach a verdict. Most jury trials will seat one to two “alternate-jurors” in the event, sickness or unforeseen circumstances arise in which one of the regular jurors are unable to hear the entire trial. The alternate-juror hears the trial, in its’ entirely, but does not participate in jury deliberations unless the alternate replaces one of the original jurors. A petit jury trial typically lasts one to three days, but could be longer depending on the type of case.
A Grand Jury hears evidence about crimes and decides whether or not a person should be “indicted” and tried for committing a crime. The Grand Jury does not decide guilt or innocence. If you are summoned to court to be selected to serve on a Grand Jury, you will serve a term of four (4) months.
According to Ohio law, jurors may be summoned from the list of registered voters in the county or jurors may be summoned from a list of registered voters and licensed drivers in the county. Presently, this court summons jurors from the list of registered voters of Miami County, Ohio. A source list is developed by a random computerized drawing from the registered voters in the county. From this source list there are three random computerized drawings each year. The jurors that are drawn are notified by mail they have been selected for jury duty.
According to the law of Ohio, you can be excused from jury duty only by the Court. When considering requests of excuse, the Court is required to observe statutory provisions. Requests to be excused from jury service should be submitted in writing. The address, fax number and email address are included on our letterhead. Please be clear and precise in your description of your request. The Judge will review the request and you will be notified of his decision. If at the particular time you are called for jury duty, it will be an undue hardship, you should make that fact known. You may be able to work something out regarding your service through the Court Administration Office at 937-440-5992.
Should any juror’s employer require proof of jury service so that you may receive your pay, or for any other reason, you may go to the Office of the Clerk of Courts which is located on the third floor of the Safety Building and a certificate will be furnished to you. These are furnished at any time you ask for them.
In the event any emergency should arise while serving as a juror, such as illness, car trouble, etc., which would make you report late or make it difficult to come in, call the Court Administration Office as soon as possible at (937) 440-5992. However, once you have been sworn as a juror in a case, every reasonable effort should be made to continue or the case would have to start anew.
Please wear comfortable clothing that also reflects the seriousness of your responsibility. Business-casual attire is encouraged. Shorts, mini-skirts, tank tops, shirts with suggestive language or logos, and hats are all considered to be inappropriate attire for the courtroom. The temperatures from the jury room and the courtroom may vary, so you may bring a sweater or jacket with you.
While a case is being tried, you may not talk about the case among yourselves or with others, nor should you listen to outside conversations. You may not mingle with lawyers or witnesses during a recess, nor accept such favors as a ride home from witnesses, parties, or counsel. If any interested party approaches you or other jurors, immediately report this communication to the judge. Each juror must retain impartiality.
No. You do not need to call in every day the month you are assigned for duty. You will receive another summons outlining your report date and time with additional instructions for reporting, etc. Petit Jurors will be assigned a Code Number of either Code 1 or Code 2. You will follow those instructions pertaining to your Code Number that corresponds with your report date. You can also check your juror status using the Miami County Common Pleas Court’s website; http://miamicountyohio/juryinformation. However, if you do report for jury duty and ultimately selected and impaneled as a juror, you will report from day to day until discharged by the Court. You will receive additional instructions by the Court during the jury selection process.
All requests to be excused must be put in writing and include your name, juror ID number and any documentation. You may be excused for previously scheduled vacation times or other dates due to medical appointments. Please be specific as to dates for appointments and vacation so that we can ensure an excusal for the needed dates - you may still be required to serve during your assigned month, but the court attempts to grant excused absences for any previously scheduled plans, medical appointments or other medical emergencies. The court attempts to notify all excused jurors by letter. Jurors who have been granted a partial excusal due to pre-planned vacations, or medical appointments, will not receive a letter. However, you may inquire at the office of the Court Administrator at 937-440-5992 or correspond via email:firstname.lastname@example.org to verify a temporary excusal.
Please put the information in writing and if possible include any documentation, juror number and dates for excusal. You can send the information through fax to Court Administration at 937-440-6011 or e-mail at email@example.com
Please fill out the questionnaire and include your new address. You may write on the back of the questionnaire that you have moved, and then mail it back to the court using the enclosed envelope. The court must have this information in writing. If you move out of the county in the middle of your term, the court also needs that information in writing and faxed to 937-440-6011, or mailed to Jury Commissioner at 201 W. Main Street, Troy, Ohio 45373. You may also send via e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org
We apologize for any undue hardship this has caused. Please mark the summons "Deceased" and Return in envelope provided.
Please treat the summons as you would any other piece of mail that does not belong to you. Mark the outside "Return to Sender.”
Please attach a note to the summons explaining the situation and return it. You will be notified in writing, if they have been excused from serving jury duty based upon the circumstances.
Please fill out the questionnaire and include your new address. You may write on the back of the questionnaire that you have moved, and then mail it back to the court using the enclosed envelope. The court must have this information in writing. If you move out of the county in the middle of your term, the court also needs that information in writing and faxed to 937-440-6011 or mailed to Jury Commissioners’ Office, 201 W. Main Street, Troy, Ohio 45373. You may also send via e-mail: email@example.com
Yes. Your jury summons is an official court order. If anyone fails to report for jury duty without a lawful excuse from the court, they may be brought before the court for contempt of court proceedings. Without jurors, the jury system cannot work the way the Constitution intended it to. We realize the sacrifice we are asking you to make and understand that you may be apprehensive about serving. However, the majority of people say they find the experience rewarding and wouldn't mind doing it again.
Please report to the Miami County Safety Building located at 201 W. Main Street. The Safety Building is situated next to the Miami County Court House. Please note that you will be entering a secured area where you will be required to pass through security checkpoints, including metal detectors. Therefore, please leave all unnecessary personal items at home or in your vehicle. Upon passing through security screenings, you will take the elevator to the 3rd floor. Upon exiting the elevators, turn right. Court personnel will be in view to assist with your check-in process. If you need employment letters, the Clerk’s office will provide one to you upon request.
There is no guarantee that you will be seated on a jury the following morning. The court has the responsibility to examine jurors under oath or affirmation as to the individual juror's qualifications to serve. The judge will ask all jurors questions and will permit both the plaintiff and defense council to ask questions of the jurors. Jurors may ask questions of the judge or either party regarding their responsibilities as juror. At this time you can voice any care, concerns or issues that you feel prevent you from serving on a jury. The court and opposing parties seek a jury who will be impartial and have open minds. Your honest answer to each question is extremely important. The court and opposing parties will select jurors who will hear the case. No prospective juror shall fail to answer any legal and pertinent question posed to the prospective juror by the court. If any question is asked that you would prefer not to answer in front of the entire jury pool, you may ask the court to answer privately on the record.
Park in an area unrestricted on time - the residential area of Franklin Street and Water Street is recommended. Please, do not park in any lots that are marked “Restricted or Reserved” surrounding the Safety Building and Municipal Court. For a view of downtown parking, you may visit Troy’s website at www.troyohio.gov